Can the officer responsible for dealing with disclosures have deputy officers?

Officers cannot delegate authority to someone else. If they did so, whistleblowers would lose the immunity and protection against reprisal provided under the Act. Immunity and protection apply when a disclosure is made to the officer or during the audits carried out by the officer.

However, as part of an audit, the disclosure officer may require the cooperation of anyone who can provide information or documents, as well as ask for an analysis or opinion on a matter, provided that the identity of the whistleblower and the people who cooperate remains confidential.

To find out more about the disclosure officer’s obligations, see the Information to public bodies section. The officer is nonetheless responsible for ensuring that the procedure is such that the whistleblower cannot be identified.

Est-ce que le responsable du suivi des divulgations peut avoir des collaborateurs?

Le responsable ne peut déléguer ses fonctions à d’autres personnes. Il ferait alors perdre aux divulgateurs l’immunité et la protection contre les représailles prévues par la Loi. Cette immunité et cette protection s’appliquent lorsqu’une divulgation est faite au responsable du suivi ou lors des vérifications que ce dernier mène.

Le responsable peut toutefois, dans le cadre d’une vérification, demander la collaboration de toute personne pouvant fournir de l’information ou des documents, de même que solliciter une analyse ou un avis sur une question, à la condition de préserver la confidentialité de l’identité du divulgateur et des personnes qui collaborent.

Pour en savoir plus sur les obligations du responsable du suivi des divulgations, consultez la section Information aux organismes. Il est néanmoins tenu de s’assurer que ces démarches ne permettront pas d’identifier le divulgateur.